Professional Environmental, Health, Safety (EHS) Consultation & Education Services Get in Touch!

Professional Certifications.

The safety profession has established its own professional certification program to provide some means for assessing professional competency. The Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP) sets competency standards for professional safety practice, evaluates candidates’ qualifications, tests their knowledge through examinations and offers the following certifications to those who meet all requirements.

Safety Trained Supervisor (STS)

The STS certification is intended for managers at all levels, first line supervisors of work groups or organization units or have a safety responsibility for a work group that is part of other work duties. Safety Trained Supervisors are not safety specialists or safety practitioners. Typical candidates have safety responsibilities that are adjunct, collateral or ancillary to their job duties. Their main job duties are in a craft or trade, in leadership, supervision or management, or in a technical specialty.

Certified Environmental Safety & Health Trainer (CET)

The CET is a credential for those environmental, safety and health practitioners who are engaged in training as part of their jobs. This is a certification that many safety practitioners choose to hold in addition to their other certifications. It shows competency in the area of adult education as it relates to EHS.

Associates Safety Professional (ASP)

An ASP is a temporary designation awarded by BCSP. It denotes that an individual has met academic requirements and has passed the Safety Fundamentals examination – the first of two examinations leading to the CSP.

Certified Safety Professional (CSP)

The CSP is a safety professional who has met education and experience standards, has demonstrated by examination the knowledge that applies to professional safety practice, continues to meet Recertification requirements established by the Board of Certified Safety Professionals, and is authorized by BCSP to use the Certified Safety Professional credential.

Construction Health and Safety Technician (CHST)

The CHST is a certification awarded to safety practitioners who demonstrate competency and work part-time or full-time in health and safety activities devoted to the prevention of construction illness and injuries.

Occupational Safety and Health Technologist (OHST)

The OHST is a title awarded to safety practitioners who perform occupational health and safety activities on a full-time or part-time basis as part of their job duties.

The Institute of Hazardous Materials Management (IHMM) has been protecting the environment and the public’s health, safety and security by developing and administering professional certifications. IHMM develops professional standards for certification and administers and promotes accredited certification programs for individuals working with hazardous materials in the environmental, safety, and health fields. IHMM’s certification programs recognize professionals who have demonstrated a high level of knowledge, expertise, and excellence in hazardous materials management.

The IHMM offers EHS professionals credentials in—the Certified Hazardous Materials Manager (CHMM®) and the Certified Hazardous Materials Practitioner (CHMPTM).

Certified Hazardous Materials Manager (CHMM)

The CHMM is a professional who has demonstrated, through experience and examination, the ability to identify and assess the risks of hazardous materials, mitigate or eliminate those risks, and manage their impact on human health and the environment.

Certified Hazardous Materials Practitioner (CHMP)

The CHMP certification is related to the CHMM, but focuses more on hands-on or workplace experience as a practitioner and less on the management aspects of the field. The certification is designed for hazardous materials workers with at least 5 years of relevant experience.